Dear Lucy

Dear Lucy,

Sometimes it makes me feel sad that I haven’t written much about being pregnant with you. I am already 31 weeks in, and time is flying by at record speed. When I was pregnant with your sister, it felt like I was writing a new post every week, and i couldn’t wait for her to be born. It all went so slowly. I had countless hours to wonder about every detail, analyze every kick and hiccup, and imagine what it would be like to be a mom.

Yet this time around, not only can I not believe how quickly your due date is approaching, but i find myself forgetting how many weeks pregnant I am and having to look it up on the app on my phone. Every Thursday I get a new email telling me how much you weigh and what size fruit you resemble, and it always takes me by surprise. And it’s not because I’m not as excited this pregnancy- that couldn’t be farther from the truth. It’s because I am so busy being a mom already, and am so fulfilled in that role, that I just don’t have the luxury to sit around for hours on end daydreaming about what it will be like. Now I know.

It is because of that knowing that I am beyond excited to meet you and welcome you into our family. Meeting Penny opened my heart up in ways I could never have imagined, and now it is going to double in size yet again, and I am crying from happiness right now just thinking about what a miracle that is. How I got so lucky I will never know, but I do know that even if I don’t say it all the time, I am thinking it. You never let me forget for long- your strong little kicks when I am reading to your sister on my lap or sitting peacefully in a rare moment of silence always put a smile on my face. You may not understand exactly what is happening when you hear Daddy chasing Penny around the living room and Penny’s squeals of delight at being caught, or my voice singing “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” for the thousandth time to Penny before bed, but I know that you can hear the love and joy in this house, and I hope that you are as excited to come join us as we are to have you.

So you stay comfy and cozy in there just a little bit longer, and I will continue to enjoy having the privilege of carrying you until you are ready to venture out into the world, because that, my sweet girl, is when the real fun begins.

Leave a Reply

