Cold Turkey

A year ago today, we sat around our table, about to dig into our delicious looking feast. Surrounded by my parents, sister, future brother in law, and grandmother, we excitedly announced to grandma that next Thanksgiving, there would be another little person at our table with us. After tearful hugs, I bolted to the bathroom- I had been in the throes of first trimester nausea, and was very sad to see my plate of food grow cold as I spent the next few hours trying to get my appetite back. (It came back around dessert time, don’t fret). The crazy thing is that while we told grandma that there would be a beautiful great grand daughter sharing in her Thanksgiving feast the following year, it was hard to believe it would ever actually come. It was just so far away.

Now, as I sit here and reflect on the past year, I am in awe at how quickly it has passed. In spite of the nausea and wasted turkey, I had so much to be grateful for last year. Yet, as impossible as it may have seemed, there is even more to be grateful for this year.

A year later, we are again at our Thanksgiving table, and again I am eating cold turkey because Penny has decided that she needs to eat at the very moment that we sit down, and waiting patiently just won’t do. Still, maybe it’s just me, but Thanksgiving dinner has never tasted so good. I truly do have so much more to be thankful for this year. And I imagine I will say the same the following year, laughing as Penny runs around the house feeding Charlie her uneaten turkey. But something tells me that she won’t be so generous with dessert.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

