A Few of My Favorite Things: 16 Weeks

Penny, I love so many things about you, both big and small. As you approach the impressive age of 16 weeks, here are a few of my favorite things:

I love how you have started to grasp for things and become a more active participant in your world. (Grasping for my hand is great; my hair, not as great).

I love the gleam you get in your eye when you see your Daddy after a long day of work.

I love the way you look in footed pajamas. I am tempted to keep you in them all day, but enjoy playing dress up with you far too much to do it.

I love how you sometimes snort when you cry. You don’t piggy grunt and root anymore like when you were a newborn, but the snorting still makes an appearance from time to time.

I love the way you raise your eyebrows when you stretch. It’s like you’re trying to stretch your whole face too, and it’s adorable. (We fondly call it your DeNiro face, because there is an uncanny resemblance to Robert DeNiro).

I love your tiny wrinkly butt. I always forget how tiny it is until I give you a bath, because those cloth diapers make it look so cushy!

I love when I go to kiss your cheek (which I only do about ten thousand and one times a day), and you turn and I get a mouth full of drool instead.

I love how when you know you are about to eat, your make fishy lips to the side of your mouth and start to chuckle in eager anticipation.

I love how you seem to take in things and really contemplate them before diving in. You never grab for a toy without inspecting it from a distance first, and you never give an immediate smile to someone until you’ve considered that person for a bit.

I love how you get bashful when you smile. You flash a big, lopsided grin (revealing a dimple in the left corner of your mouth for added effect), raise your shoulders up to your ears, then look away. So sweet.

I love how your hands are always in motion, whether rubbing together as though you are scheming up a secret plan, or being shoved into your open mouth.

I love the way you love to talk to us. You make grunts and coos and somehow manage to make sounds with the spit bubbles that are constantly on your lips. You even try to talk to me while nursing, which is not very productive but super cute.

I love how when you are eating and we stop because you need to burp or switch sides, you start wailing at the top of your lungs as though this has never happened before and I may never feed you again. Your cries and the tears leaking out of your tightly scrunched up eyes are heartbreaking but also so ridiculous that I have to laugh.

Image

Image

Image

And the list goes on. I can’t wait to see how you will surprise and delight me as you continue to grow.

Love,

Mommy

3 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things: 16 Weeks

  1. Oh my goodness I love this post. Thank you for sharing. This will be a cherish-able posting later down the road. Photos are darling. And, I must say, I adore the background wall paper! tehehe! – Georgia

    • Thank you! I definitely this will be a funny one to look back on one day. And the wallpaper is from Anthropologie- when I saw it I became obsessed and had to have it for her nursery!

Leave a Reply

