Entering the 3rd Trimester

I can’t believe I am in my 3rd trimester! So far (besides the nausea of the first 12 weeks), this has been a really easy pregnancy. The 2nd trimester brought more energy and a bigger and more diverse appetite. I slept well, with the aid of an amazing body pillow that took up more of the bed that Kevin would have liked, but he was happy to oblige. But the best part was Penny getting big enough that I could finally feel her moving around, and people could actually tell that I was pregnant. While I know that it can be risky for perfect strangers to assume people are pregnant, I have taken it as a compliment every time someone in the checkout line at a grocery store comments on my pregnancy. I couldn’t wait to get to this point, and now I’m here!

28 weeks!

28 weeks!

And then the third trimester came. Just in the past week, I have experienced some not so pleasant changes in the way I am feeling. Sleeping is getting a little harder, for one thing. I like to switch sides throughout the night, and having this big belly makes it a little more difficult to maneuver. My legs are getting tingly and restless, and I’m also starting to have lower back problems, which makes it hard to get comfortable for long. Also, as Penny gets bigger and stronger, so do her movements. I absolutely love feeling her- it is a constant reminder that she is there with me and is moving and growing at a healthy rate. But sometimes her movements feel so…bizarre is the word that comes to mind. They can come so swiftly and suddenly that they leave me breathless. It makes me wonder what she is doing to my organs as she explores in there. Yesterday morning I was cuddling up with her daddy, and he could actually feel her on his stomach. It was really cool. And kind of crazy.

The hardest part, however, has been the sudden decrease in energy. Doing simple things like talking while walking make me out of breath. And stairs? Forget about it. I can’t believe how daunting they seem now. I’m sure it’s partly due to the added weight and partly due to the fact that Penny likes to push against my diaphram, but either way it’s frustrating to have to rest so often! Especially since my nesting instincts are still in high gear, and I have great ambitions of all that I want to accomplish to get ready for her arrival.

My latest project was our master closet. We have been blessed with a very nice-sized closet in our new house, but it bothered me that we weren’t really taking advantage of the space. The lack of organization caused it to get messy way too often. So my first free day of spring break, I headed to Walmart and bought some plastic storage drawers, shelving, and canvas totes. struggling to get all of those items in and out of my cart and car was tiring enough, so that is about all I got done the first day. The rest (sorting through clothes, making donation and trash piles, and figuring out the best place to put everything) took the next two days. Before, I could have gotten all of this done in half a day, but it ended up taking 3 whole days with all of the breaks I kept having to take. Naps are my new best friend. Here are some pictures of the finished product (nothing pretty, but definitely neat and tidy)!

master cloest 4

Canvas totes (only $5 at Walmart) are great for storing things you don't use every day or have difficulty folding, like bathing suits, belts, and nylons.

Canvas totes (only $5 at Walmart) are great for storing things you don’t use every day or have difficulty folding, like bathing suits, belts, and nylons
.

These hanging canvas organizers are great for large, bulky items like jeans and sweaters.

These hanging canvas organizers are great for large, bulky items like jeans and sweaters.

Plastic drawers double the storage space in your closet (I keep things that I don't want to hang up, like t-shirts, tank tops, and pajamas), and are also a more affordable alternative to wooden dressers.

Plastic drawers double the storage space in your closet (I keep things that I don’t want to hang up, like t-shirts, tank tops, and pajamas), and are also a more affordable alternative to wooden dressers.

I have over the door shoe storage for heels (only $8 at Walmart), and shelf shoe storage for taller shoes like boots.

I have over the door shoe storage for heels (only $8 at Walmart), and shelf shoe storage for taller shoes like boots.

Another thing to check off the to-do list! I am continuing to get our home ready for our new baby, one small and exhausting step at a time.

Leave a Reply

