Ode to My Husband

They say absence makes the heart grow fonder. Well, my husband has been gone a mere 3 days for a work conference, and I (and my dog) are truly feeling his absence. I knew I would miss the million little things he does on a daily basis. Getting up with me at 5:30 in the morning to make sure I eat a healthy, protein filled breakfast, packing my lunch, kissing me good bye, taking our crazy energetic dog for a run so that he won’t be quite as crazy when we get home, throwing in a load of laundry, making a delicious dinner, emptying the dishwasher. It has, I will admit, been incredibly quiet in our house these past few days, but I have managed to take care of myself in his absence (I was very proud to tell Kevin this morning that I remembered to take my prenatal vitamin without being told). I just finished making my lunch, and even had a healthy spinach smoothie for breakfast. Clearly I can manage. But it is the companionship that I am truly missing. Being able to excitedly tell him when I feel Penny kicking. Laughing with him when Charlie prances around the house like a reindeer, trying to convince me that I should really want the prized bone that he has in his mouth. Knowing that at the end of a long day, he will be at the end of it.  Ahhh is it Friday yet??

I am so incredibly excited about Penny coming into our lives and all of the amazing things we are going to experience as she grows. But one of the things I look forward to most is watching Kevin as a father. I have never known a more loving and attentive husband, and I can’t even imagine what kind of a daddy he will be to our sweet baby. 

Penny, I can’t even begin to tell you how much you are going to adore your dad. He certainly loves you already! He is already reading “Frog and Toad” to you, getting your nursery ready, and can’t wait to attend your first tea party. You are one lucky girl!

And so am I.

Image

 

2 thoughts on “Ode to My Husband

  1. DARN IT MEL, you already have me crying! This post couldn’t be any more true, and you are equally as special for acknowledging the sweet, loving things he does in such a prideful way. Kevin is the most selfless, caring guy I know and there isn’t anything he wouldn’t do for you and our family. Penny is such a lucky little girl, and I cry even picturing how sweet of a daddy kev will be, and there is no question that you will be the most amazing mother. I love you both and miss you terribly already. ❤ loopy

Leave a Reply

